22 Canadians of South Asian origin in New Parliament

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

By A Correspondent

In the 42nd general election, Canadians of South Asian origin have a total of 22 MPs in the federal parliament, which is three times the number in the previous parliament.

Twenty MPs are from Liberal Party and two from Conservative Party: Bob Saroya from GTA - Markham-Unionville and Deepak Obhrai re-elected from Calgary Forest Lawn.

Fourteen of the 22 are from Ontario, four from British Columbia, three from Alberta, one from Quebec, which has elected its first South Asian MP,  Anju Dhillon, from Laval-Lachine-LaSalle riding, a South Asian stronghold in suburban Montreal.

For first time, two South Asian origin MPs won from outside GTA: Bardish Chaggar from Waterloo and Raj Saini from Kitchener Centre riding. Sixteen out of these 22 South Asian members are from Punjabi community. Five new members of the parliament are turban-wearing Sikhs.

Gurbax Malhi, a turban-wearing Liberal, was first elected as the Member of Parliament for Bramalea-Gore-Malton in 1993, and served in the House of Commons for 18 consecutive years. In the 2011 election, he was defeated by Conservative candidate Bal Gosal.

JULY 2018

Vol. 12 - No. 12


QR Code

QR Code
Find us on linkedin
Follow Us